EMF
What EMF numbers actually mean
Three things make a field reading meaningful: a number, a unit, and a distance. Sauna listings routinely publish one of the three.
By Scooter M. · Published · Last updated

The three parts of a usable figure
The units
Two units appear on consumer listings, and they differ by a factor of ten:
So a listing that publishes “0.5” with no unit could mean 0.5 mG or 0.5 uT, which is 5 mG. That is a tenfold ambiguity in the only number the seller chose to give you, and it is why we mark that particular disclosure incomplete on the low-EMF blanket page rather than assuming what they meant.
You will also see ELF, which is not a unit at all - it stands for extremely low frequency, the band mains-powered equipment operates in, around 50 to 60 Hz. A listing that says “low ELF” is naming a frequency band, not giving you a magnitude.
Why distance is the part that matters most
Near a source, magnetic field strength falls away steeply with distance. The exact relationship depends on the geometry of the conductor, but the practical consequence is simple and large: a reading taken against the surface of a heating element and one taken a foot away are not the same measurement, and the gap between them can be an order of magnitude or more.
That is why a manufacturer can honestly print a very low number without telling you very much. It is also why the DIVEBLAST listing naming its measurement location - “near the plug” - is, despite missing the unit, doing something the others are not.
How to read a claim on a listing
- Is there a number at all? Six of the eight blankets we read say “low EMF” and stop. That is marketing language, and we score it as such - five points out of fifteen, for saying something rather than nothing.
- Is there a unit? Without one, the number is ambiguous by 10x.
- Is there a distance? Without one, the number is not comparable to anything.
- Who measured it? A third-party test is a stronger claim than an in-house one, and one blanket asserts third-party safety testing without naming the party.
- Is a standard cited? None of the products on this site cites any published exposure guidance. If one did, it would be the strongest disclosure in the category by a distance.
What this site will not tell you
We do not make health claims about EMF exposure, in either direction. We do not tell you that low readings are important or that the concern is overblown. Both of those are positions about human health, and this site’s competence stops at what manufacturers publish.
What we do is score disclosure, and we score it because it is checkable. A manufacturer who publishes a figure with its conditions has told you something you can verify. One who publishes an adjective has told you they know the word is worth money. That distinction is real regardless of what you believe about the underlying question, and it is set out in full on the methodology page.
Every pick, in full
Each write-up below shows the score broken into its six components, the specs the listing actually publishes, and the running-cost arithmetic where a wattage exists to compute it from.

#1 - Only published EMF number
Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF
The only blanket here that puts a figure and a unit on its EMF claim, though the measurement distance is missing, which leaves the number incomplete.
| Small-space fit | 8 / 20 |
|---|---|
| Electrical fit | 0 / 20 |
| Cost to run | 0 / 20 |
| Key-number disclosure | 12 / 15 |
| Spec completeness | 11 / 15 |
| Warranty | 8 / 10 |
| Total | 39 / 100 |
| Rated watts | Not published Not published |
|---|---|
| Maximum temperature | 77-176 F Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Dimensions | Folds to 18 x 19 x 10 in; fits users up to about 6 ft 4 in Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Weight | 21.8 lb Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Timer | Sessions of 30 to 45 minutes, controller has built-in auto-shutoff Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| EMF disclosure | 0.0 mG at not statedIncomplete: no measurement distance Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Material | PU exterior Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Warranty (months) | 24 Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs
This is the only blanket in the roundup where the EMF claim comes with a number and a unit attached: 0.0 mG, described as measured and third-party safety tested. That is meaningfully better than the phrase every other seller prints, and it is the single reason this blanket scores where it does.
It is still an incomplete figure, and we score it as one. A magnetic field reading is meaningless without the distance it was taken at, because the field falls away sharply with distance - a reading at the surface of a heating element and a reading two feet away are different numbers describing the same appliance. Healix does not publish the distance, so the figure cannot be reproduced or compared against another maker's.
The rest of the listing is unusually plain-spoken about what to expect: a 15 to 20 minute warm-up, light sweating in the first session and a full sweat by around the fifth to seventh. Whether or not that matches your experience, publishing an adaptation curve at all is more than most sellers attempt, and it is the kind of detail that makes a listing feel written by someone who has used the product.
Buy it if
A buyer for whom EMF is the deciding question and who wants at least a number to argue with rather than a slogan.
Skip it if
You need the measurement distance to take the figure seriously. It is not published.

#2 - Most specific EMF claim
DIVEBLAST Zero EMF Sauna Blanket
Names a location for its EMF reading, which almost nobody does, but leaves off the unit, so the figure is half of a real disclosure.
| Small-space fit | 14 / 20 |
|---|---|
| Electrical fit | 0 / 20 |
| Cost to run | 0 / 20 |
| Key-number disclosure | 12 / 15 |
| Spec completeness | 6 / 15 |
| Warranty | 0 / 10 |
| Total | 32 / 100 |
| Rated watts | Not published Not published |
|---|---|
| Maximum temperature | Not published Not published |
| Dimensions | 71 x 35.6 in Seller’s product title, read 2026-09-07 |
| Weight | 15.37 lb Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Timer | Not published Not published |
| EMF disclosure | 0.5 (unit not stated) at near the plug Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07 |
| Material | Not published Not published |
| Warranty (months) | Not published Not published |
No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs
This listing does something we saw nowhere else in the category: it names where the reading was taken. 'A minimal 0.5 reading near the plug' identifies the location, which is the harder half of the problem, because the plug and controller end of a heated blanket is exactly where a field reading is highest and exactly where a seller has the most incentive to stay quiet.
What it leaves out is the unit. A bare 0.5 could be milligauss, microtesla or something else, and those are not interchangeable - 0.5 microtesla is 5 milligauss. We report the figure as published and mark it incomplete rather than assuming the seller meant milligauss, because assuming would be inventing data to fill a gap.
Beyond the EMF line the listing is thin: dimensions from the title, a weight from the spec table, and nothing on wattage, temperature range, timer or warranty. The spec-completeness component reflects that. This is a blanket that has been careful about one number and silent about the rest.
Buy it if
Someone comparing EMF claims specifically, who wants to see which sellers are willing to be concrete.
Skip it if
You want a full spec sheet. Three of eight checklist items are published.
Questions people actually ask
What does mG mean in EMF readings?
Milligauss, a unit of magnetic flux density. One milligauss is one thousandth of a gauss. The other unit you will see is the microtesla, and the conversion is that 1 microtesla equals 10 milligauss. A figure quoted without its unit is ambiguous by a factor of ten, which is why a bare number on a listing is not usable.
What is a safe EMF level?
We do not answer that, because it is a health question and this site does not make health claims. What we can tell you is that international guidance on extremely low frequency fields exists from bodies such as ICNIRP and the WHO, that it is written in terms of exposure limits at specified frequencies, and that no sauna manufacturer we read cites any of it.
Why does measurement distance matter for EMF?
Because magnetic field strength from a near-field source falls away steeply as you move away from it. A reading taken touching a heating element and one taken two feet away describe the same appliance with wildly different numbers. Without the distance, a figure cannot be compared against another manufacturer's or reproduced by you.
Do all electric saunas produce EMF?
Yes. Any conductor carrying alternating current produces a magnetic field, and any energized appliance has an electric field around it. That is physics, not a defect. What differs between products is the magnitude and how the heating elements are wound and shielded - and almost none of them publish enough to tell you which.
Sources
- World Health Organization - Electromagnetic fields and public health - Background on extremely low frequency fields and how exposure is characterized. Cited for context, not as a safety verdict on any product.