Skip to content
Contrast Den

EMF

EMF in home saunas: who publishes a number, and who just says the words

This page scores disclosure, not safety. We do not own a gaussmeter and we make no health claim. What we can do is tell you which manufacturers will put a figure on it.

By Scooter M. · Last updated

How we are paid: the buy links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission from the retailer at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the rank order or what we tell you to skip - the full FTC disclosure is here.

A handheld electromagnetic field meter resting on a work surface
#ProductEMF figureBest forScorePrice
1
Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF
Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF
The only blanket here that puts a figure and a unit on its EMF claim, though the measurement distance is missing, which leaves the number incomplete.
0.0 mGOnly published EMF number3.9Check price
2
DIVEBLAST Zero EMF Sauna Blanket
DIVEBLAST Zero EMF Sauna Blanket
Names a location for its EMF reading, which almost nobody does, but leaves off the unit, so the figure is half of a real disclosure.
0.5 (unit not stated)Most specific EMF claim3.2Check price
3
Lunix LX17 Far Infrared Sauna Blanket
Lunix LX17 Far Infrared Sauna Blanket
The most complete spec sheet in the category and the only published lifetime warranty, though the EMF claim is still a phrase rather than a figure.
Claim onlyBest documented4.0Check price
4
Deep Modality Pro M3 Infrared Sauna Blanket
Deep Modality Pro M3 Infrared Sauna Blanket
One of the few listings that states the supply voltage, which is the only electrical fact published anywhere in this category.
Claim onlyPublished voltage2.7Check price
5
HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket
HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket
The most recognized sauna blanket on the market and the least documented listing in this roundup - one of eight checklist specs published, and no figure behind the EMF claim.
Claim onlyBest-known name1.5Check price
Score is a Contrast Den disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specifications. It is not a test result. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What this section is, and what it is not

This section scores disclosure. It tells you which manufacturers publish an EMF figure and which publish a phrase. It makes no health claim about EMF exposure at any level, in either direction, and we do not measure anything - there is no gaussmeter, no lab and no test protocol behind any page on this site.

We built this as a section rather than a paragraph inside a product page for one reason: it is the question the buyer for this site actually decides on, and it is the question the category answers worst. Across twenty product listings read on 7 September 2026 - eight sauna blankets and twelve portable saunas - the number publishing an EMF figure with a unit is two. Both are blankets. Neither figure is complete.

The state of the category, in one table

Disclosure levelHow many productsWhat it means
Figure with unit and distance0The complete version. Nobody.
Figure with a unit, no distance1Healix: 0.0 mG measured
Figure with a location, no unit1DIVEBLAST: 0.5 near the plug
A claim with no number4“Low EMF”, “Zero EMF”, “minimal ELF exposure”
No mention at all14Silence
Counts across the 20 heat products on this site, read 2026-09-07. Every quote is on the individual product page.

The top row is the finding. A complete disclosure is not a high bar - a number, a unit, and the distance it was taken at - and nothing in the category clears it.

Why distance is the part that matters

Magnetic field strength from a near-field source falls away steeply with distance. A reading taken against the surface of a heating element and one taken a foot away are not the same measurement, and the gap between them can be an order of magnitude or more.

That is how a manufacturer can honestly print a very low number without telling you very much. It is also why a sauna blanket is the product category where the omission matters most: the element is inside the fabric you are lying against, so the relevant distance is essentially zero. What EMF numbers mean covers the units, the conversions and how to read a claim without either believing or dismissing it automatically.

The premium does not buy disclosure

This is the pattern that surprised us most when we read the listings. The two products that publish a figure are not the expensive ones. The most recognized and most expensive sauna blanket on the market publishes one of our eight checklist specifications and describes itself as low-EMF “unlike typical infrared sauna wraps” - a comparative claim against unnamed competitors with no measurement on either side of it.

If EMF is genuinely the reason you are paying more for a brand, the brand has not given you a number to hold it to. That is not an accusation about the product; it is a statement about what is on the page you are buying from.

Two claims that get confused

Low EMF is about the electric and magnetic fields produced by the heating element’s wiring. Full spectrum is about the infrared wavelengths the element emits. They describe different physical properties, they get sold in the same sentence, and a product can honestly have either, both or neither.

Across every listing we read, not one publishes both a complete EMF figure and a wavelength band. Claiming both while substantiating neither is the norm. Low EMF versus full spectrum takes them apart.

What we would like to be able to tell you

The honest limitation of this whole section is that scoring disclosure is not the same as scoring safety, and we would rather say so than let the ranking imply otherwise.

A manufacturer who publishes a figure with its conditions has told you something you can check. One who publishes an adjective has told you they know the word is worth money. That distinction is real regardless of what you conclude about the underlying question - and it is the only distinction a publisher without a lab can honestly draw.

If you find a product that publishes a number, a unit and a distance, that is the one to buy on this criterion, and we would like to know about it. Corrections and additions are welcome, and they get dated on the page rather than edited in silently - the policy is here.

The three pages in this section

Low EMF sauna blankets quotes every seller’s exact wording and ranks the five that say anything at all. What EMF numbers mean explains milligauss, microtesla, ELF and why the measurement distance is load-bearing. Low EMF versus full spectrum separates the two claims that get sold as one.

The products themselves live in the sauna blanket roundup and the portable sauna roundup, where the same figures feed the same scoring rubric.

Everything in emf

A handheld EMF meter on a plain surface

roundup

Low EMF sauna blankets: who publishes a number

The verbatim EMF wording from five sauna blankets, which two publish figures, and why both figures are incomplete.

Top pick
Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF 3.9

Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
An infrared heating panel glowing in a dim room

guide

What EMF numbers actually mean

Units, distance, and how to read a manufacturer's EMF claim without either believing or dismissing it automatically.

An infrared panel emitting a warm glow

comparison

Low EMF vs full spectrum: two claims that get confused

Why low EMF and full spectrum are unrelated claims, and how to tell which one a listing has actually substantiated.

Top pick
Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF 3.9

Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid

Every pick, in full

Each write-up shows the score broken into its six components, the specs the listing actually publishes, and the running-cost arithmetic where a wattage exists to compute it from.

Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF product photo

#1 - Only published EMF number

Healix Infrared Sauna Blanket, Zero EMF

The only blanket here that puts a figure and a unit on its EMF claim, though the measurement distance is missing, which leaves the number incomplete.

3.9disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specs
Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
How the score is made up
Small-space fit8 / 20
Electrical fit0 / 20
Cost to run0 / 20
Key-number disclosure12 / 15
Spec completeness11 / 15
Warranty8 / 10
Total39 / 100
What the listing publishes
Rated wattsNot published
Not published
Maximum temperature77-176 F
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
DimensionsFolds to 18 x 19 x 10 in; fits users up to about 6 ft 4 in
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Weight21.8 lb
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
TimerSessions of 30 to 45 minutes, controller has built-in auto-shutoff
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
EMF disclosure0.0 mG at not statedIncomplete: no measurement distance
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
MaterialPU exterior
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Warranty (months)24
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07

No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs

This is the only blanket in the roundup where the EMF claim comes with a number and a unit attached: 0.0 mG, described as measured and third-party safety tested. That is meaningfully better than the phrase every other seller prints, and it is the single reason this blanket scores where it does.

It is still an incomplete figure, and we score it as one. A magnetic field reading is meaningless without the distance it was taken at, because the field falls away sharply with distance - a reading at the surface of a heating element and a reading two feet away are different numbers describing the same appliance. Healix does not publish the distance, so the figure cannot be reproduced or compared against another maker's.

The rest of the listing is unusually plain-spoken about what to expect: a 15 to 20 minute warm-up, light sweating in the first session and a full sweat by around the fifth to seventh. Whether or not that matches your experience, publishing an adaptation curve at all is more than most sellers attempt, and it is the kind of detail that makes a listing feel written by someone who has used the product.

Buy it if

A buyer for whom EMF is the deciding question and who wants at least a number to argue with rather than a slogan.

Skip it if

You need the measurement distance to take the figure seriously. It is not published.

DIVEBLAST Zero EMF Sauna Blanket product photo

#2 - Most specific EMF claim

DIVEBLAST Zero EMF Sauna Blanket

Names a location for its EMF reading, which almost nobody does, but leaves off the unit, so the figure is half of a real disclosure.

3.2disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specs
Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
How the score is made up
Small-space fit14 / 20
Electrical fit0 / 20
Cost to run0 / 20
Key-number disclosure12 / 15
Spec completeness6 / 15
Warranty0 / 10
Total32 / 100
What the listing publishes
Rated wattsNot published
Not published
Maximum temperatureNot published
Not published
Dimensions71 x 35.6 in
Seller’s product title, read 2026-09-07
Weight15.37 lb
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
TimerNot published
Not published
EMF disclosure0.5 (unit not stated) at near the plug
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
MaterialNot published
Not published
Warranty (months)Not published
Not published

No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs

This listing does something we saw nowhere else in the category: it names where the reading was taken. 'A minimal 0.5 reading near the plug' identifies the location, which is the harder half of the problem, because the plug and controller end of a heated blanket is exactly where a field reading is highest and exactly where a seller has the most incentive to stay quiet.

What it leaves out is the unit. A bare 0.5 could be milligauss, microtesla or something else, and those are not interchangeable - 0.5 microtesla is 5 milligauss. We report the figure as published and mark it incomplete rather than assuming the seller meant milligauss, because assuming would be inventing data to fill a gap.

Beyond the EMF line the listing is thin: dimensions from the title, a weight from the spec table, and nothing on wattage, temperature range, timer or warranty. The spec-completeness component reflects that. This is a blanket that has been careful about one number and silent about the rest.

Buy it if

Someone comparing EMF claims specifically, who wants to see which sellers are willing to be concrete.

Skip it if

You want a full spec sheet. Three of eight checklist items are published.

Lunix LX17 Far Infrared Sauna Blanket product photo

#3 - Best documented

Lunix LX17 Far Infrared Sauna Blanket

The most complete spec sheet in the category and the only published lifetime warranty, though the EMF claim is still a phrase rather than a figure.

4.0disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specs
Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
How the score is made up
Small-space fit14 / 20
Electrical fit0 / 20
Cost to run0 / 20
Key-number disclosure5 / 15
Spec completeness11 / 15
Warranty10 / 10
Total40 / 100
What the listing publishes
Rated wattsNot published
Not published
Maximum temperature77-176 F
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Dimensions75 x 37 in folded for use, 75 x 75 in opened flat
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Weight21.1 lb
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
TimerUp to 60 minutes
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
EMF disclosureClaim, no figure
Low EMF Far-Infrared Heat, 77-176 F
MaterialFive layers: waterproof fabric, cotton, carbon fiber heating, cotton, PU leather
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Warranty (months)120
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07

No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs

Six of the eight items on our spec checklist are published here, which is the highest count of any blanket we looked at. The dimensions are given twice - folded for use and opened flat - which is genuinely useful, because a blanket you have to lie inside is a different piece of furniture from a blanket you lay out on a bed, and most sellers publish only one of the two numbers.

The warranty is the outlier. A lifetime term, conditional on registering the product, is the longest published commitment in this roundup by a wide margin, and it is the sort of claim a seller does not make lightly on a heating appliance. It is worth reading as a statement about expected failure rate rather than as a promise you will ever need to use.

What is still missing is the number that matters most for cost: rated watts. Nobody in this category publishes it, and Lunix is no exception, so the electrical-fit and cost-to-run components of the score have nothing to work with. The EMF language is the same phrase everyone uses - 'Low EMF' with no measurement, no unit and no distance - which earns partial credit for saying something and no credit for saying anything checkable.

Buy it if

Someone who wants the most published information in the category and values a long warranty term over a brand name.

Skip it if

You want a measured EMF figure. There is no number here, only the phrase.

Deep Modality Pro M3 Infrared Sauna Blanket product photo

#4 - Published voltage

Deep Modality Pro M3 Infrared Sauna Blanket

One of the few listings that states the supply voltage, which is the only electrical fact published anywhere in this category.

2.7disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specs
Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
How the score is made up
Small-space fit14 / 20
Electrical fit0 / 20
Cost to run0 / 20
Key-number disclosure5 / 15
Spec completeness8 / 15
Warranty0 / 10
Total27 / 100
What the listing publishes
Rated wattsNot published
Not published
Maximum temperature77-176 F
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Dimensions70 x 34 x 2 in (6 ft x 3 ft)
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Weight23.7 lb
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
TimerNot published
Not published
EMF disclosureClaim, no figure
ZERO EMF/LOW ELF: For a safer sauna experience
MaterialVegan leather with jade and tourmaline
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Warranty (months)Not published
Not published

No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs

The listing states 'Plug in at 110v', which sounds trivial and is not: it is the only electrical specification published by any sauna blanket in this roundup. It does not get you to a running cost, because voltage without current or power is not enough, but it does confirm the thing a renter needs confirmed, which is that this plugs into a normal wall outlet.

At 23.7 pounds this is the heaviest blanket here, and the listing frames the weight as evidence of material quality rather than apologizing for it. Whether you agree, it is a fact you can plan around - a blanket you have to lift onto a bed every session is a different daily proposition from one at fourteen pounds.

The EMF wording is 'ZERO EMF/LOW ELF', which is a stronger claim than most and still carries no number. Claiming zero without a measurement is the weakest form of a strong claim, and we score it exactly the same as 'low EMF' because it is equally unverifiable.

Buy it if

Someone who wants a heavier, more substantial blanket and cares about material quality.

Skip it if

Weight matters to you, or you want the EMF claim substantiated.

HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket product photo

#5 - Best-known name

HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket

The most recognized sauna blanket on the market and the least documented listing in this roundup - one of eight checklist specs published, and no figure behind the EMF claim.

1.5disclosure score out of 10, computed from published specs
Check price on Amazon
#ad Live pricing is not running yet, so we show no number. How we are paid
How the score is made up
Small-space fit8 / 20
Electrical fit0 / 20
Cost to run0 / 20
Key-number disclosure5 / 15
Spec completeness2 / 15
Warranty0 / 10
Total15 / 100
What the listing publishes
Rated wattsNot published
Not published
Maximum temperatureNot published
Not published
DimensionsNot published
Not published
WeightNot published
Not published
TimerNot published
Not published
EMF disclosureClaim, no figure
Low EMF, High Standards - Unlike typical infrared sauna wraps, our low-EMF blanket is engineered with minimal electromagnetic and ELF exposure
MaterialLined with amethyst, tourmaline, charcoal and clay
Seller’s listing, read 2026-09-07
Warranty (months)Not published
Not published

No running cost can be computed. The listing does not publish a rated wattage, so there is no honest way to tell you what a session costs. We will not estimate one. How we compute running costs

This is the blanket most people mean when they say sauna blanket, and it scores last here, so it is worth being exact about what that score does and does not say. It is a disclosure score. It measures what the seller publishes. It is not a verdict on how the product performs, because we have not used it and will not pretend to have.

What the listing publishes is this: nine temperature levels, a handheld controller, an industrial-grade zipper, and a lining of amethyst, tourmaline, charcoal and clay. What it does not publish is the temperature range those nine levels span, the dimensions, the weight, the timer range, the wattage, the warranty term, or any EMF figure. One of our eight checklist items.

The EMF sentence is the interesting one, because it is doing more work than the others: 'Unlike typical infrared sauna wraps, our low-EMF blanket is engineered with minimal electromagnetic and ELF exposure.' That is a comparative claim against unnamed competitors, with no measurement attached to either side. If EMF is genuinely the reason you are buying this brand, the brand has not given you a number to hold it to.

Buy it if

A buyer who is choosing on brand, design and resale reputation, and is content to take the specifications on trust.

Skip it if

You want to compare this against anything on measured terms. There is nearly nothing published to compare.